"Concerto for Orchestra"

Click to listen.
Right click to download


Bela Bartok--Hungary

  This movement of Hungarian composer Bela Bartok’s “Concerto for Orchestra” is often called the “Game of Pairs”.  The composer presents each of the woodwind instruments in the orchestra in pairs.  You’ll first hear the bassoon, then oboe, clarinet and finally flute.  The trumpets then interrupt and create a middle section with the rest of the brass family.  Bartok closes this piece like he opened it, with his game of woodwind pairs.  

Return to Music Makes Magic