"Jupiter" from The Planets

Click to listen.
Right click to download


Gustav Holst--England

  Englishman Gustav Holst’s music was influenced by both English folksongs and Hindu literature and philosophy. It is said that one day he looked up at the evening sky and began to hear music in his mind.  The music he wrote down became a suite of seven orchestral pieces called The Planets.  We’ve been listening to “Jupiter” which begins with sixteenth notes in the stringed instruments, followed by the brass family featuring the French horn. A meter change from two to three ends the A section which is followed by a hymn-like melody for the B section.  The A section returns in the woodwind family which is joined by the entire orchestra to complete the piece.  

Return to Music Makes Magic