"Quartet No. 11 in F Minor"

Click to listen.
Right click to download


Ludwig van Beethoven--Germany

  Unlike the symphony, the string quartet is limited to two violins, one viola and one cello.  “Quartet No. 11 in F Minor” was composed by Ludwig van Beethoven in 1810 and he intended it to simply be music for music’s sake.  This first movement begins forcefully in unison (all instruments playing the same notes).  Beethoven then added a second theme that sounds peaceful.  These two opposite ideas create the interest in this movement labeled allegro con brio  

Return to Music Makes Magic